And We Rely on Each Other!

Do you have a friend who in most ways is the exact opposite of you? I have one of those, and even though we disagree on almost everything, she makes me laugh regularly,and I make her cry with a moving rendition of Islands in the Stream, so it works well enough.

But in truth, its more than that. Most of all I know that if I needed her I know she would do anything in her power to help me. That trust in a person is rare, but a gift of the highest degree. I wonder how we go to that point of trust, and I think in a way it was always there. Sure, we have let each other down on numerous occasions, but somehow we always found our way back to each other.

Can you say that someone in your life would put you first? If so, take time every day to be thankful about it and look to them for inspiration.

A person who is giving reminds you the only way to dig yourself out of a bleak existence, is to turn away from your own worries and help others.

No matter what you do for a living, what you do for the day-to-day, without love for your fellow-man, you will have very little.

My friend the dog-person and I the cat lady, appreciate one another’s difference, though we don’t always understand them. She brings out the lumberjack in me, and I bring out the artist in her. Last summer, she took me on a kayak day trip where I faced my biggest fears. Let’s just say that at one point I found myself horizontal in my kayak inching through a drainage pipe filled with lake spiders and their webs. It took me about 10 minutes, and her 30 seconds, but she waited for me, cheering me on.

That same year, we renovated my family’s entire house. Our family was up to our necks in insulation, paint, wood, and tools we never knew existed. In exchange for some hot meals and a peaceful place to rest, she was right by our side until the very end. Furthermore, by way of the craft room we built, she discovered that she was a very talented sculptor and muralist.

We are apart now and we miss one another’s company. The little stuff like stopping by to walk the dogs at the park are lost to distance between us.

But the world gets so crazy, and we are just trying to get by doing the right thing. No matter the distance, we  both know there is someone out there who is carrying a candle in our name.

The time we spent together, sniffing the air along the lake, riding out to the country for a raving hoe down, and watching the sun set over the hills, were what we needed to face the separate worlds we live in today. I’m glad I was paying attention to those little moments, because the peace in my heart remains, and I will always be thankful for that.

A little taste of our nostalgia, my friend’s week in Wisconsin. Now you know why I call her the lumberjack:

The Lumberjack plays with her new toy

The Lumberjack is also a cyclist

The Lumberjack is a soccer goalie, you can sometimes see her playing at midnight!

So thanks friend, for the memories, and those to come.

13 thoughts on “And We Rely on Each Other!

  1. i may be on the hormone high, but i will never cease to be moved to tears by you, my friends. and does anyone know where i can get a gold outfit like that??? i think my pregnancy bumb would be rockin in that!

    • Haha no Boltz, that is the last thing you need. If you wear that, you might think you are a super hero-BOLTZ is already the name of a hometown hero, let’s not steal his thunder…

      • there is only ONE boltzzzzzZAP!
        . . .and we already have the boltz super-hero persona, i believe we know her as TURBoltz. . .

      • Yep thats it-you need a uniform, you’re right. That makes me think we should go into business just making superhero costumes. Dress everyone up and take the town!

  2. and for the record, i did legitimately get tears reading this so super-hero/hormones or no–that’s love, man!

    • Its all love my friend, and I just like to say “youre on the hormones” Don’t worry I know you are still you, even though you have an alien creature growing inside your womb! No no I saw the picture, its just a baby.

  3. I used to have a friend like that, in fact – quite a few. As time moved on, that friendship faded away. I still see them from time to time, here and there – they got wives now, kids…and new friends.

    • In any case, it must be a natural thing, for every season there are different people in our life, and many fall away as time goes on as you expressed. I have had my share of friends who just didn’t match up with me anymore in terms of our goals and destinations in life. In some cases, I feel hurt like anybody else at times, but there really is so much to do and so many to meet, no use lamenting a past that is gone for good. Thank you for your comment and giving me a little something to chew on.

Leave a Reply

